The Wish

Once upon a time there was a girl who wished she lived in a fairytale. All day every day she read books about warriors and heroes, evil queens and princesses and, like most of those princesses, she wished with all her heart for a prince. Every night before sleep she sat by her window and made a wish on a passing star. She chose a different one each night, after all, she reasoned, one of them must work. The wish went like this…

O Star, shining ever so bright

I pray that you listen to me tonight

Grant me the goodness of thy heart

And help me to find one who art

Funny, intelligent, kind and strong

And tell me O Star, if I am wrong

When I ask for true love, and he answers me

Pray give me thy insight to return to thee

Afore declaring any such love

I shall seek thy in the heavens above

And say O Star, is this right for me?

And I hope that you will glitter and shine and dance

And tell me ‘O Child, do not miss your chance!

For true love indeed is hard to find

But please my dear, pay this a mind

Look not to the stars, but to your heart

Listen no to the skies, for you must start

To trust in yourself, find the answers within

And answer once and for all, could it be him?’

Leave a Reply

