The World Is Your Oyster!*

 *Evenings and Weekends Only.

On Monday 27th February, my life changed. On that day, I simultaneously gained and lost my freedom. I lost the privilege of time, but reached a milestone which will open up a wealth of opportunity. In a nutshell, I joined the 9am-5pm crew. I began a full-time job in a sector related to my degree – something I feel very proud to have achieved, considering my subject was based in the arts. For the foreseeable future my life will now roll along in unison with commuters all over the world; rising at 7am to begin the hour plus commute to work, before returning nine hours later to eat, shower, and crash until the next day. Then replay. Over and over. I am content with this arrangement, yet I have begun to wonder… When will I have time for my other passions? Reading, writing, hiking, exploring, travelling, all time consuming activities which will have to be sidelined.

I’m 23, everyone I talk to tells me ‘The world is your oyster! Get out there!’ Except it’s not now, is it? I can’t get out there because first I must eat, wear clothes, buy bus and train passes, pay for ordinary things like dentist and optician appointments, vet bills, phone contracts, etc. The list goes on. Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying my new role, but being fresh out of the sanctuary of the university bubble I realise there are several fun aspects of my life which will have to reduce, or at least be restricted to weekends and evenings. How do people balance work and play? Seriously, how should I do it? Staring at computers all day makes me reluctant to use my laptop later, which will affect my blog and writing. Getting home at 6pm means no leisurely woodland walks, no excitable planning for day trips away, and definitely no extended holidays. So what should I do? The world is supposed to be open for me to explore at this age, yet when will I have time?

So, there is some serious thinking to be done. I need to balance my two types of freedom, and simply make the world my oyster on evenings and weekends. I can plan for the weekend on my daily commutes, and read books instead of watching screens at home. And hey, of course I can still daydream. I doubt I could stop daydreaming if I tried. I will embrace my new job, and use my new salary to pay for trips to more exciting places! I’ve barely travelled to a handful of places on my wishlist, so I must find a way. I would love to hear how everyone else balances their work life with their personal interests, so any advice would be much appreciated!

Now go have an adventure!

Leave a Reply

